Welcome to our list of WIT mentors.  The mentors are shown by TTS region (i.e., Asia, Europe, Latin America, Middle East and Africa, North America and finally Oceania).


We suggest that you read the biographies of any of the mentors you are interested in (click on the bio tab next to their picture and you will be taken to their information) and when you are ready to select your mentors, return to your mentee application form (go to the Mentoring Scheme menu and choose 'become a mentee') and choose your mentors from the drop down boxes in the form.


WIT Membership is required participate in the Mentoring Scheme. Please take a moment to signup prior to accessing the mentee application form.

Mary S. (Susie) Leffell, Ph.D., is Professor of Medicine and Director of the Immunogenetics Laboratory of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Dr. Leffell has been an active participant in clinical histocompatibility and transplantation for over thirty years. She has contributed though both her research efforts and her involvement in professional societies, including: the Transplantation Society, the American Society of Transplantation, the American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI). She has served ASHI in several capacities: Chair of the Accreditation Committee, liaison to the Centers for Medicare/Medicaid Services (CMS), Vice President and President of the Society. She received ASHI’s Distinguished Service Award in 2003 in recognition of these contributions. Dr. Leffell also chaired the Southeastern Organ Procurement Foundation’s (now known as the American Foundation for Donation and Transplantation) Histocompatibility Committee and has served as a faculty member and course advisor for that organization’s highly regarded Histocompatibility Specialist Course since its founding in 1984. She has contributed to the development of transplantation policies though her service in various capacities to the national Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network / United Network for Organ Sharing (OPTN/ UNOS), which have included two terms on the Board of Directors, serving as Chair of the Histocompatibility Committee, and as a member on the Kidney Transplant and Kidney Allocation Review committee. From 2205-2009, she served as a member of the Advisory Committee on Organ Transplantation to the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services. Her research contributions have been in humoral sensitization, the impact of HLA disparity and KIR mismatches on outcomes of nonmyeloablative HSCT, and immunogenetic population studies involving HLA alleles and haplotypes, KIR, cytokine alleles, and minor histocompatibility antigens.