Welcome to WIT

Webinar - September 8

"Gender Inequality in the time of COVID-19"
Please join Women in Transplantation’s Virtual Networking Event on Tuesday September 8th where Sabine Oertelt Prigione will speak on the important and highly topical subject of 'Gender Inequality in the time of COVID-19'.

The FIRST LIVE EVENT will be held at 9am EST / 3pm GMT+1 / 10pm Seoul / 11pm Sydney.

Introduction: Lori West (Edmonton, Canada, WIT Co- Chair)
Live Presentation: Sabine Oertelt-Prigione
Host: Christine Falk (Hannover, WIT Pillar 1 Chair)
Moderators of live Q and A session:
from WIT Pillar 1 -Samantha Anthony (Toronto) and Anjana Pillai (Chicago)
Wrap up summary: Christine Falk

The SECOND EVENT will be held at 7pm EST on Tuesday September 8th / Wednesday September 9th at 1am GMT+1 / 8am Seoul / 9am Sydney.

Introduction: Curie Ahn (Seoul) will introduce a recording of Sabine’s discussion.
Moderators of live Q and A:
Incoming WIT Pillar 1 anf 2 Chairs -
Anita Chong (Chicago) and Germaine Wong (Sydney)
Wrap up summary: Roslyn Mannon (Omaha, USA, WIT Co-Chair)

Sabine Oertelt Prigione

2020 WIT Awards

Deadline - May 22, 2020.

Winners to Be Announced

The Women in Transplantation Steering Committee have created the Woman Leader in Transplantation Award to recognize a woman who has helped further the field of transplantation through research, policies, leadership, initiatives or other regarded contributions. The Unsung Hero Award will be presented to one woman who has had an extraordinary impact in transplantation through community service, volunteering, mentorship or other community based activity. Both Awards are presented during the presidential address at the TTS International Congress.



*Video link now available*: #metoo: "Addressing Gender Inequity in Academic Medicine".

Let’s take a look below at Dr. Reshma Jagsi's video, held on June 2, 2020 where she actively addresses gender Inequity in Academic Medicine and also addresses common questions.

Guest speaker Dr. Reshma Jagsi and members of WHCOP and WIT discussed the critical role of mentorship in supporting careers, research, and leadership for female transplant professionals.

Reshma Jagsi

Celebrating 10 Years of Promoting Gender Equity and Inclusiveness in Transplanation

What have we accomplished?

With leadership representation in our Steering Committee from 18 countries and events taking place in 58 locations over the past 10 years, we've accomplished a lot!

2009

WIT and First Steering Committee Created

2010

Worldwide two-year survey launched targeting women tx professionals

2011

International Mentoring Scheme Launched with over 40 mentor/mentee relationships

2012

Worldwide survey concluded with over 500 women tx professionals in 45 countries

2013

Over 80 mentors signed up to second round of International Mentoring Scheme

2014

Attendance at WIT events surpasses 1,000 participants / WIT Awards Inaugurated at World Transplant Congress

2015

Creation of an online resources library for all WIT sessions and talks

2016

Developing Leaders Workshop launched

2017

Redefining WIT Mission and Vision and introducing pillars

2018

Pre-Meeting Symposia and Sex and Gender Track hosted at TTS 2018 / First founders of WIT win Medawar Prize

2019

Worldwide representation at partner events

2020

Representing Women in Transplantation virtually in the challenging era of COVID-19